If you have ever been on a college campus, chances are you have witnessed or even committed disorderly conduct. Were neighbors blaring loud music blaring at all hours of the night? Did a protest get out of hand? These are examples of disorderly conduct.
Under West Virginia law, you may be charged with disorderly conduct if you "...sturb the peace of others by violent, profane, indecent or boisterous conduct or language or by the making of unreasonably loud noise that is intended to cause annoyance or alarm to another person, and who persist in such conduct after being requested to desist by a law-enforcement officer…"
Examples of disorderly conduct can range from public drunkenness, to inciting a riot, to obstructing traffic. This law is very broad; it acts as a catch-all for a number of similar offenses.
Are you facing a disorderly conduct charge? You’re not alone. Disorderly conduct is a very common charge in West Virginia, but that doesn’t mean that you should take these charges lightly.
Disorderly conduct -- a misdemeanor offense in West Virginia -- is potentially punishable by either 24 hours in jail or a fine of up to $100.
While this may not seem like a huge penalty to you, you have to remember that these convictions could cause problems later on.
A disorderly conduct conviction will leave you with a permanent criminal record -- not something you want to have to explain to a future employer.
Let La Neve Law Offices help. Clarksburg Criminal Defense Attorney Todd La Neve has been successfully defending clients against disorderly conduct charges for years, and he can fight for you too.
Contact La Neve Law Offices today for your free case evaluation. We’re here to help you and to fight to protect your rights.